I had an exam on Thursday, and let me tell you, it was a shocker. This was for Contemporary Political Theory, where we’ve been applying political philosophy to contentious issues, so I answered the question on abortion, who’s debate was better? Marquis or Tooley?

Now, if you remember from my earlier posts, Tooley is the one who says if you accept abortion, you accept infanticide, and I argued that infanticide doesn’t exist in the state of Western Australia.

Marquis trumps Tooley and his argument goes along the lines of “if you accept abortion, you accept euthanasia” or something like that. It’s complex and not as interesting as Tooley’s or Jarvis’ (Jarvis is the one where the magical violinist is plugged into your kidneys).

Anyways, the point of this post is that I had an unusual dream last night.

I dreamt that I got pregnant to someone who’d also taken the unit (this person didn’t have a name or face, but that says nothing because of the 60 people who take the unit, only about 10 show up on a weekly basis and only about 2 of them are boys so whatevs). ANYWAYS, as I was saying, I got pregnant in my dream and me and the nameless, faceless father sat there, deciding whether or not to abort the baby, based on the various arguments of Tooley, Jarvis and Marquis.

Now see THIS is what they mean when they talk about something “taking over your life”. Seriously, why would I base my decision to have a baby (if I were to fall pregnant) on the ridiculous arguments of three political philosophers?

I seriously need to get away from uni.

However, before I spend this week trying to cleanse my mind, body and soul of uni-related ridculouslness, I shall share this criminal case I recently learnt about:

Mr Langham bought a crossbow from a shop for $675. He changed his mind and took it back for a refund. Anyways, the shop would only give him store credit, and would not refund his money. Using some of the credit, he purchased a gun.

Later on, armed with the gun, Langham returned to the shop and held them up, demanding the balance of $301 back.

The shop assistants handed over $300, but Langham continued to demand that last dollar. (Would he have given them $4 change, had they handed over $305?)

Of course, Mr Langham was charged with armed robbery. But seriously, this has to be one of the funniest cases ever – all he wanted was his money back. Did he have a reasonable claim? Maybe.

Alright, that’s it for today, and I’m on uni-holidays for the next week, so I don’t know if I’ll have anything worth blogging over, but if you wanna do something for me, go sign the petition at http://www.savemidnightsun.com/home.aspx, so that MAYBE one day, us Twilighters will own our own copy of Midnight Sun, which we’re all so desperately hoping Meyer will change her mind on.

Thank you my choo choos!

