Photobucket
The GREATEST MOMENT OF MY LIFE HAPPENED THIS WEEK! I was lucky enough to be chosen to meet Lady Gaga in a radio competition here in Australia.

I happened to be in Adelaide visiting my grandparents and cousins when I got the call – and had to pack up and fly out for 24 hours with my cousin, Katie, accompaying me to the best 30 mins of my life.

I had also met Maggie Beer (my foodie idol) a few days earlier, making this past week possibly the most magic of my life!

On Sunday afternoon, after a quick visit to the Opera House and Harbour Bridge, we dolled ourselves up especially for Gaga and headed to meet her. We had to wait about an hour, due to he being held up by press, and we nearly got kicked out by hotel security twice (they thought we were fans from outside – well we were fans obviously, but we were with her record label!)

We finally got to head up to meet her. I was a blubbering, nervous wreck. And Gaga, I apologise for this. I have always fantasised about what I would ask you – I have a million questions – but the moment the radio called me and told me I’d won, I lost the plot. All I could think about was that I GOT TO MEET YOU – the woman who inspires me to remember that I am just fine the way I am when I sometimes feel like letting people take advantage of me and try to change me (which does happen, despite the fact that I am generally very sure of myself). I couldn’t remember any of the things I wanted to ask you!

I also don’t think I made much sense of the gift I gave you. They are pearls sourced from Western Australia, where I live, and they are uniquely Australian. Mum works for the company (Kailis), so we picked them out together as we wanted you to have something special from Australia that you wouldn’t find elsewhere. I hope I didn’t sound like I was trying to sell the company to you – I just wanted you to like them. And you seemed thrilled, and you were so genuine and YOU WERE EXACTLY HOW I HOPED YOU’D BE! So friendly!

Not that I expect you to read my little blog… But oh how I adore you, Gaga! Thank you for singing ‘Hair’ to us (it’s probably my favourite song on the album, along with Highway Unicorn, so i was thrilled!) and thank you for being so chatty and warm and you have no idea how excited we all were before and afterwards. There was lots of squealing downstairs, afterwards.

Best. Day. Ever!

